Interview and Giveaway with author Alysson Foti Bourque

Posted by

Today, I’m excited to be hosting a stop on children’s author Alysson Foti Bourque’s blog tour. Alysson has just released the latest in her award-winning Alycat picture book series. On the surface, it’s a book for kids about golfing, but underneath, the message teaches perseverance and self-confidence. I was able to catch up with Alysson for a quick question-and-answer session as part of her tour, so read on for that. But don’t miss the fabulous giveaway at the bottom of this post. You can win a signed copy of the book!

Q. Hi Alysson, and thanks for joining us today. First of all, how many children’s books have you written? And how many are you typically working on at any given time?

A. Hello, Shana, and thanks for having me here. I have written four books in the Alycat Series and have written two books in my Rhyme or Reason Travel Series. The four Alycat books include:

Alycat and the Thursday Dessert Day (2016)

Alycat and the Monday Blues (2017)

Alycat and the Friendship Friday (2018)

Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday (3/17/2020)

Typically, I work on one book a year. Always planning ahead.

Q. What is your favorite childhood book and why?

A. My favorite childhood book is Happy Birthday, Moon by Frank Asch. A bear travels to the highest mountaintop to find out what to give the Moon for its birthday. It’s a lovely story of friendship, love, and resourcefulness.

Q. I’ve always loved that book, too. How long were you a part-time writer before you became a full-time one?

A. I was always a part-time writer, even while practicing law full-time. After practicing law for nearly 7 years, I’ve now taken a temporary retirement to become a full-time author.

Q. Impressive! How many hours a day, on average, do you work on your books?

A. Counting marketing and PR, I work on my series for 8 hours a day—sending/answering emails, social media, school visit preparation, etc.

Q. How many unpublished and partly-finished books do you have?

A. In my head, about 5! Can’t wait to put them on paper!

Q. Can you tell us something behind-the-scenes about your book?

A. Sure! I hide literary Easter eggs within all of my books. Tournament Tuesday and Monday Blues has Alycat’s Popcorn Popsicles from the first book. I also have my self-published book, Space Center, sitting on the dining room table in one of the storyboards. Can you find it?

Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday

A “Mom’s Choice Award Winner”! Alycat’s brother, Bugsy, is playing in a golf tournament with some of his friends, and wants to use his lucky ball to win the game. But when Alycat forgets his lucky ball at home, Bugsy learns what luck is really all about. Can Bugsy win the tournament without his lucky ball? Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday is part of the Alycat Series: alycatseries.com.

For Ages 3-7, 32 pages
Published by Mascot Books, March 2020
Purchase the book here on Amazon: Hardcover

“This sweet and beautifully illustrated story will capture young cat fanciers and parents who want to teach their children about self-reliance. Great for fans of Stan and Jan Berenstain, Janette Sebring Lowrey.” – BookLife Reviews


Meet the Author:
Alysson Foti Bourque is the author of the award-winning Alycat series. Alysson earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Education from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and a Juris Doctor degree from the Southern University Law Center.

After practicing law for six years, she traded in writing trial briefs for writing children’s books. Alysson enjoys public speaking opportunities at schools, conferences, and festivals nationwide. She hopes to inspire people of all ages to follow their dreams and believe in themselves wholeheartedly.

AWARDS & HONORS
The Alycat Series has won several prestigious awards including:
Three Mom’s Choice Awards®
Benjamin Franklin Digital Award, Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA)
Best Book Award Finalist
NY Big Book Award
Reviewed by Midwest Book Review
Southern Festival of Books Panelist
Louisiana Book Festival Featured Author

Connect with the author: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest


And now for the Giveaway!

Two Grand Prize Winners will receive:

An autographed copy of Alysson Foti Bourque’s ALYCAT AND THE TOURNAMENT TUESDAY (USA only)

How To Enter the Giveaway: Visit this link and fill out the required fields on the Rafflecopter form. It may take a moment to load.

Open to legal residents of the 50 United States and the District of Columbia, who are eighteen years of age or older in their state or territory of residence at the time of entry. Void where prohibited by law. Giveaway ends April 13, 2020.

This post is presented by Rosco’s Reading Room in partnership with IRead Book Tours. Prize fulfillment by Alysson Foti Bourque.

Thanks for reading today, and please show us some love by sharing this post.

Blog Tour Schedule:

Mar 17 – Working Mommy Journal – book review / giveaway
Mar 17 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – book review / guest post / giveaway
Mar 18 – The Pen and Muse Book Reviews – book review / author interview
Mar 18 – Gwendalyn’s Books – book review / author interview / giveaway
Mar 18 –fundinmental – book spotlight / giveaway
Mar 18 – Books, Dreams, Life – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway
Mar 19 Over Coffee Conversations – book review / giveaway
Mar 19 – eBook Addicts – book review / giveaway
Mar 20 – A Mama’s Corner Of the World – book review / giveaway
Mar 23 – StoreyBook Reviews – book review / giveaway
Mar 24 – Svetlana’s reads and views – book review
Mar 24 – Laura`s Interests – book review / giveaway
Mar 25 – Library of Clean Reads – book review / guest post / giveaway
Mar 25 – Rosco’s Reading Room – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Mar 26 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review / giveaway
Mar 26 – T’s Stuff – book review / author interview / giveaway
Mar 27 – Books Direct – book review / guest post / giveaway
Mar 30 – She Just Loves Books – book review / author interview / giveaway
Mar 31 – Bound 4 Escape – book review / giveaway
Apr 1 – Bookworm for Kids – book review / giveaway
Apr 2 – Pickagoodbook.com – book review / author interview / giveaway
Apr 6 – My Journey Back-The-Journey Back – book review / giveaway

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.